One of the best ways for a woman to protect herself is with a stun gun. A stun gun is a non-lethal weapon that sends a high-voltage shock to an attacker. This temporarily stalls them and lets you escape from harm's way.
But stun gun laws surrounding ownership and use vary by each state. Before you purchase your stun gun, make sure you familiarize yourself with the laws of your state.
First, let's look at some basic things to know about stun gun ownership.
Owning A Stun Gun
Some states will require a background check and you to apply for a permit before you can buy a stun gun. The process is the same as if you were to buy a firearm. Most states require you to be at least 18-years-old to purchase the stun gun.
There might be limits as to where you can use your stun gun or the rules surrounding carrying one in public. Finally, you have to always keep an eye out for Red Flag Laws.
There are some states that can implement court orders for civilians to hand over their weapons to law enforcement. You also want to see if there are restrictions in your state if you have any criminal record.
As you'll see, most U.S. states make it easy for civilians to buy and use stun guns. The only states where ownership and use are entirely banned are Rhode Island and Hawaii.
Fewest Stun Gun Laws
These are the states that have the freest laws for possession and ownership of a stun gun.
The following states don't require a background check or applying for a permit. The stun guns can be freely used by both civilians and security guards. There are no laws for carrying your stun gun in a public area.
Other than a possible ID verification, there won't be other requirements to buy the stun gun in these states.
The states are Alabama, Alaska, Colorado, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and Wyoming.
Arizona has no restrictions for ownership/use and doesn't require permits or a background check. In this state, however, you need to verify your age with a government ID.
Arkansas also doesn't require a background check or permit. Both civilians and security guards can buy a stun gun without issue. You do have to be at least 19-years-old to buy a stun gun in this state.
Some Strict Stun Gun Laws
These states have a few requirements before you can buy a stun gun.
Delaware allows buying a stun gun without needing to get a background check or permit. This is for both civilians and security guards. However, a permit is required for conceal carry.
Mississippi has no restrictions on ownership and use. However, you do have to apply for a permit to buy a stun gun. You want to speak to your local police station on how to buy one.
New Mexicoallows both civilians and security guards to purchase stun guns. Neither has to get a background check or permit. However, a permit is required for conceal carry. The exception is if the stun gun is concealed in the owner's car or on his/her premises.
North Carolina has no restrictions on ownership or any requirements for permits. Background checks are also not needed. However, conceal carry is entirely prohibited outside of one's own premises.
North Dakota residents can buy a stun gun without needing a background check or permit. They are permitted for both civilians and security guards. Conceal carry is not required for a stun gun made by StrikeLight. All other stun guns require a conceal carry permit.
Tennessee only requires a permit for security guards who wish to buy a stun gun. Civilians don't require permits or background checks for ownership.
West Virginia only requires a permit for conceal carry unless on one's premises. There are no other restrictions for civilian or security guard ownership. No background checks needed.
Strictest Stun Gun Laws
These states have the strictest requirements for buying and using a stun gun.
In these states, there is always a possibility of more restrictive laws/regulations getting implemented in the future.
Connecticut only allows a stun gun to be used within one's home. They are for civilian use only and there's no need for a permit or background check.
Illinois allows ownership and use by both civilians and security guards. However, both need to get a permit and background check. One is also required to get a FOID. Only after getting the FOID can you buy a stun gun and it must be on your person whenever you carry the stun gun.
Iowa requires security guards to apply for a professional permit before buying a stun gun. Civilians must also get a permit to buy one. A background check is always required.
Maryland requires everyone to get a background check before buying a stun gun.
Massachusetts doesn't require background checks, however, a firearms license is required for civilian ownership. Both civilians and security guards have to show proof of State ID and a state-issued Basic Firearms Safety Course certificate.
Michigan requires everyone to verify their identity as well as have a Conceal Carry Weapons permit (CCW). Background checks aren't required.
Minnesota requires you to verify your age with a government ID (19 years). Background checks are required for everyone.
New York doesn't have any state laws requiring permits or background checks. However, each county might have specific laws or regulations. As such, New Yorkers are expected to study these laws before buying a stun gun. These laws are subject to change more frequently.
Wisconsinrequires everyone to have a CCW permit. Otherwise, you have to prove that you will only use it on your own premises. No background checks required.
Buy Your Stun Gun
Now that you know the stun gun laws across the states, you can do what's required to buy your stun gun. Make sure you train yourself to use it responsibly. Please share this guide with other women who wish to be on guard!
If you want a great stun gun, we've got one in store for you! Check out our selection of stun guns!